*MOT rule changes will be in force from the 20th May 2018*

The MOT test will change on 20 May 2018, with new defect types, stricter rules for diesel car emissions, and some vehicles over 40 years old becoming exempt.

We listed everything you need to know below.

1. Defects will be Categorised Differently

Defects found during the MOT will be categorised as either:

Dangerous, Major or Minor

MOT testers will still give advice about items you need to monitor which are currently known as ‘advisories’.

The category the MOT tester gives each item will depend on the type of problem and how serious it is. This is what the new categories will mean:

Dangerous: a direct and immediate risk to road safety or has a serious impact on the environment. Do not drive the vehicle until it has been repaired. A 'dangerous' result will make your vehicle fail the MOT.

Major: It may affect the vehicles safety, put other road users at risk or have an impact on the environment. A 'major' result will make your vehicle fail the MOT and you will be required to repair immediately.

Minor: No significant effect on the safety of the vehicle or impact on the environment. You will be advised to repair as soon as possible, but your vehicle will still pass the MOT.

2. Stricter Rules for Diesel Car Emissions

Some new items will be tested during the MOT.

They include checking:

  • if tyres are obviously underinflated
  • if the brake fluid has been contaminated
  • for fluid leaks posing an environmental risk
  • brake pad warning lights and if brake pads or discs are missing
  • reversing lights on vehicles first used from 1 September 2009
  • headlight washers on vehicles first used from 1 September 2009 (if they have them)
  • daytime running lights on vehicles first used from 1 March 2018 (most of these vehicles will have their first MOT in 2021 when they’re 3 years old)

There will be other smaller changes to how some items are checked. Your local Desira service centre will be able to tell you about these.

4. The MOT certificate will change

The design of the MOT certificate will change.

It will list any defects under the new categories, so they’re clear and easy to understand.

The service to check will be updated to reflect the changes.

5. Some vehicles over 40 years old won’t need an MOT

At the moment, only vehicles first built before 1960 are exempt from needing an MOT.

When the rules change on 20 May 2018, vehicles won’t need an MOT from the 40th anniversary of when they were registered. E.g If a car was first registered on 31 May 1978, it won’t need an MOT from 31 May 2018.